Question re Elmarit-R ROM 28/2.8

chrism

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm a beginner on the R system, and I may have bought a faulty lens. It has ROM contacts, and just one cam, but the cam is a smooth slope, not the stepped cam. The seller indicated it had been used with a Canon EF adapter. The lens mounts fine, but in A mode the aperture display in my viewfinder does not change as I rotate the aperture ring - it stays at 2.8 no matter what the lens is set to. With the other lens I have so far, the display changes to match the set value on the lens. The aperture does close down on firing the shutter, but that's little consolation as this means metering won't work unless I do manual metering with the stop down lever depressed. This image shows the single smooth non-stepped cam. Has the lens been altered to fit the Canon adapter?

Elmarit_R_28.png

I don't want to send it all the way back to New Zealand, but it's no good to me as it is. Anyone got any ideas?

Chris

Chris, could you give any further details of this lens, for example, the serial number, the filter size and type (whether E-- or Series) and, if it's on the lens anywhere, the five digit order code? I'm guessing here, but is it possible that this might be an earlier 1-cam lens, or a 2-cam lens that has had the second cam removed as part of a factory ROM conversion? Otherwise, I can't imagine why the R-cam is missing. Which R camera are you using it on?