M240 v the Q

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone

As a novice I have loved using my Q, and in my cumbersome hands it has still supplied me with pictures I could have never imagined possible before. But I constantly crave a different focal length.

So the M240 is constantly in the back of my mind, and not for owning an M just for that's sake. As a machine and disregarding the lens choice, how does the older M stack up against the Q? Do I keep the Q and buy an M240 if and when a new version comes out. Do I sell the Q WHEN the new M comes out?

I had a T and thought it was an ok camera, so the TL isn't an option. If it had a sensor upgrade to the Qs then I might have considered (Leica take not)

Hi,

You might find this video interesting: 

Or search: "Leica Q and M comparison Lehmann" if the url does not work.

I have an M9 and MP, but would  definitely keep a Q if I had one. The used value of a Q is less that the price of a new 28 mm lens. 

Jean-Michel

• Like 1

I've had an M8 (traded for the Q) and still have an M9, and quite a bit of Leica glass. I've also used film-based Ms since 1974 and still have an M2R and two M4s. I would say your biggest transition would be to the manual rangefinder focusing of the M. If you haven't used manual focus much in the past, it could be a hard adjustment, even if you've used SLR/DSLRs with manual focus. Using the M's rangefinder is very different.