Leica R7

Idrissi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi

I would value your advice

I bought a while back a Leica R7 got it to work  fine and left in a drawer  for several months . yesterday  got it out   checked that the battery contacts are clean and  replaced the batteries  after checking the voltage . all well so far.first I set the speed dial to T and pressed the shutter release button.the mirror went up and shutter opened  and  remained like this for over an hour !!!!!

this puzzled me . I took the batteries out again rechecked the voltage , replaced back no joy .I could do nothing  after an hour or so the mirror came down and the shutter curtain closed. that was a relief .today again the same issue. again left the camera for a while  and the mirror and curtain returned to starting position . am I doing something wrong here . so the third time I put the dial to A at 30 of a second and as I am wring this the mirror is still up and the curtain fully open.

I am new to Leica R system I am reading the manual , and can't find an answer.Is it something I am missing here . or has the camera just died for good ! 

I would value your opinion and suggestions .

Thanks

Al

Hi once again  an update on the above problem.