Should I keep my new, used S006?

bevdig

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a retired advertising photographer who has used a Contax 645 and a Leaf digital back for many years; both are now orphan products but do work perfectly, and produce fine images. I decided to take advantage of the Leica to Contax lens adapter, and purchased a used S006 in mint condition along with the adapter. This too works perfectly and I am happy with having a camera that can still be repaired, has professional service, etc. I can return the camera if need be.

In joining the Leica Forum, I see that S series cameras with CCDs are vulnerable to CCD corrosion, and my camera may have a small spot where that shows up. So of course I am worried that the problem will only get worse, making the camera unusable without a sensor repair, with all the cost and delay that goes with that. The single spot I notice is minor and easily corrected in post.

Speaking as a professional who uses cameras in that way, reliability is paramount, and it is disappointing to see trouble in such an otherwise fine system. So what would you suggest, return the camera and adapter and live with my shaky old Contax system, or live with the sensor uncertainty and just shoot away, or some strategy in the middle?  Your comments and thoughts most welcome.

Not sure if you recommend returning the camera or just living with a small defect. I purchased the camera off eBay from a West-Coast dealer/source. My concern would be that the camera is part of a larger batch that was returned for sensor issues.

I guess, if you were starting with a sensor with no visible defect, you can estimate what the prevalence of the defect appearing is, that is how many cameras may have been sold compared to fault reports.