GFX50R vs Leica SL typ 601

tgj

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here, so please bear with me. I've been a long-time shooter with the Fujifilm X-Pro2, but I'm now looking to venture into something different, specifically beyond the APS-C format. I'm considering the GFX50R and the Leica SL, which are similarly priced on the used market. I really appreciate both of these cameras, especially for their color rendering. As a hobbyist, my main subjects are travel, cars, and once a while I will get paid gigs for portraits for graduation photos. Which of these two cameras would you recommend for someone with my interests?

Welcome!

I understand this choice dilemma very well because I had it too. And yes – in color rendering they're both excellent. 

Pro GFX50R:

• great MF-Sensor,
  • less expensive Fuji lenses,
  • endless options for film simulations

Pro SL601,

• better / fast AF,
  • usability of a good unser interface

I had the SL601 and now I have the Fuji GFX100II. The reason is that I definitely wanted a MF with 100 MP for large format prints. I wouldn't have changed if I hadn't this motivation.  For travel, street and portraiture even this most recent very modern and tempting GFX100II has an AF not as fast as the SL601. An MF -System as the only one IMO should be considered very carefully. To me it would never be an option if I had no FF-System in addition.

So it clearly depends on your priority when using a camera.

Another aspect is the results, in particular what is considered the "MF-Look". If you really – really (!) – like it, there is no alternative. 

Any choice is a progress compared to APS-C.

So anything you do is wrong, but do it. 😉

Thank you both for your replies! It seems like you both really prefer the look of the GFX50R, and indeed, the medium format look is amazing. I should probably test out both, but I'm not sure how to go about that.