SL 601 in 2022.

Ko.Fe.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Thinking about moving from film Leica which I don't really use and Canon AF digital gear to single SL 601 with Panasonic 20-60 and SF-26. I use this flash on M-E 220 and it gives very adequate results for its small size.

I'm not a pro, sports and BIF. Just walkaround and family pictures. I just like Leica cameras and want to have good weather sealing.

In 2022, is SL 601 good enough to lasts for another five or so years of regular use under all weather irks? 

I have an SL601 with the Panasonic 20-60 and as a camera lens combination its fine. I expect it to last another 5 years at least. Regarding weather sealing, well, its difficult to say because it depends on a lot of things. If you try to keep it dry and keep any seals (battery/SD card door/connectors) clean and undamaged then it should be fine. But allow dirt to get into the seals to damage to occur to them and its less likely to survive if it gets thoroughly wet. I take reasonably good care of mine but its not cossetted and so it looks well used (a Leica ex-demo camera so it is far from mint). The only downsides are that its big and well into SLR size rather than diminutive EVF, and batteries are expensive. I find it to be a better camera to use that the Sony A7II but its a lot bigger. You would need to handle it properly to find out how you like it. The Panasonic 20-60 isn't the world's best lens but its by no means the worst either - quite fit for purpose if you aren't pixel peeping the corners on every photo.

Edited by pgk
  • Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, pgk said: