Yipee! My first darkroom test print ever!

rpavich

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Well, I finally got all of the gear necessary, I got it all together and did my first test print!

How danged exciting!

I know I made tons of mistakes, but this really is amazing to me. I've never done this before.

I do have a question now that I've done this; Do I leave the chems in the trays or do I have to bottle them up pretty quickly? Do they stay effective if left in the trays for days?

24434719902_0508188046_h.jpg

• Like 6

Great! Looks pretty good. Don't see mistakes you mention, but with practice you'll iterate towards great prints.

Bottle the chemicals up after the session. They'll last longer.

Lars

Thanks Lars, that's what I needed to know.

The first print I printed on the wrong side of the paper.

The second print I accidentally dipped the corner of the paper into the stop first.. :)

This was paper #3.

Good for you - printing is a long learning experience, and worth every minute.

Bottle your chemicals, particularly the developer. A few hours during a session in a tray is fine, of course. Don't leave developer exposed over night. The large exposed surface encourages oxydation, which kills developer.

There are some useful sites and turorials available on the WWW. One I like is www.darkroomdave.com. Amongst others, he has a tutorial on split grade printing. Even if you don't use that powerful approach, you can watch him handle himself and his materials in the darkroom and learn much. Shortens the learning curve.

• Like 1

Good for you - printing is a long learning experience, and worth every minute.

Bottle your chemicals, particularly the developer. A few hours during a session in a tray is fine, of course. Don't leave developer exposed over night. The large exposed surface encourages oxydation, which kills developer.