Zeiss 35/2 ZM vs Summicron 35 asph or 4th.

hammam

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have the Zeiss 35/2, which I like a lot with my M7 for b&w. Almost too contrasted (I remember the lenses in my RX were the same), but I can correct that in scanning and in PS to some degree.) Now, if I have a good opportunity to buy a Summicron 35/2 pre-asph, should I trade in the Zeiss? In other words, is the Leica lens worth the extra money compare to the Zeiss? I'm talking sharpness, resolving power and overall tonality for b&w. I will usually use a yellow filter for b&w. I am just an ordinary amateur photographer, but I like my gear to be better than me :)

Thanks.

Do you know which version (there are four) of the pre-ASPH Summicron you have been offered? They are all good, but users seem to talk about v.1 and v.4 more than the other two.

I use an 8-element v.1 which vignettes slightly wide-open and has lower contrast than my 35 ASPH but the contrast seems to improve a bit as you stop down. The lens has wonderful tonality, is sharp in the center wide-open and again sharpness improves as you move to f5.6 or f8. The images from the v.1 have a distinct vintage (60's) look to them which you may not like, but that's why I have the lens.

Unfortunately I don't use a Biogon so I can't compare, but my v.1 was described as "battered" by the person who sold it to me (it definitely wouldn't win a beauty contest). It was CLA'd recently by Steve Choi and Steve told me that the lens was good for another 30 years of heavy-duty service. There is sample variation from all manufacturers, but I have heard of build quality issues with some of the Zeiss lenses so I would go with Leica from a durability perspective.

If you want to look at images I would find out which version you've been offered and go to flickr and then search on that version tag.