M9 Battery Charging in Africa [no electricity]

msap7222

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I am new to this forum. I am a pro with 26 yrs experience and I have been asked to shoot a book in East Africa in 2 weeks. Leica's Australian distributors, Adeal, are loaning me an M9 and lenses to take.

I already own M4-P, M6 and M8 (which will be my backups) and 15CV, 24ASPH, 50/1.4, 90/2.8 and 135/4

I collect the M9 and a few lenses next week.

The villages I will be working in do not have electricity I am told ...

So I guess my choices are to buy a Solar Charging Mat/Panel or simply buy and pre-charge about 10 M8/M9 batteries.

Another possibility is taking along a 12/7.2A battery and using that to charge the flat Leica batteries. I am not a battery "Einstein" so would have no idea how many Leica Battery charges I might get from a larger, donor battery.

I will also be taking my MACBOOK AIR as a storage/backup device for image files so it would be good to hear your thoughts on powering that as well.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Mark

Two key things; take as many pre-charged batteries as you can, keep them cool but not cold. When shooting, select the shortest auto-power off period - the camera uses quite a bit of power just idling. If you use discreet mode, make sure you wind the shutter by the time the red LED stops flashing, otherwise you are using power to "hold-off" the shutter wind.

Will there be any vehicles where you are? If so, they will provide a much better source of power than a 12v 7.2 Ah battery. That battery provides, in theory, about 85Wh of energy whereas the Leica battery provides about 8Wh. However, the battery will fail to run the charger at some point and the transfer of energy from one battery to another is by no means 100%. I think you'd do well to get 4 battery charges out of it.