D-lux 4 video is unique!

twistlick

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I love the D-Lux 4's video recording! I'm a filmmaker & picked up the D-lux 4 because I needed a good point & shoot camera with a wide angle. I was stunned by how interesting the look of the HD video is coming out of this little camera. The crazy wide angle + low light capability + the Photo-Jpeg Codec makes for really unique looking footage. I'd peg it more to between a Super8 & 16mm filmstock.

I hope Leica continues to enhance the video capabilities in the next model and include controls for the exposure in video. But please don't switch to the awful AVCHD codec that all the camcorders are switching to these days.

Anybody else use the video feature extensively on the D-lux 4?

I love the D-Lux 4's video recording! I'm a filmmaker & picked up the D-lux 4 because I needed a good point & shoot camera with a wide angle. I was stunned by how interesting the look of the HD video is coming out of this little camera. The crazy wide angle + low light capability + the Photo-Jpeg Codec makes for really unique looking footage. I'd peg it more to between a Super8 & 16mm filmstock.

I hope Leica continues to enhance the video capabilities in the next model and include controls for the exposure in video. But please don't switch to the awful AVCHD codec that all the camcorders are switching to these days.

can you or anyone post a link to a youtube clip???

Advertisement (gone after registration)

the quality of your video clips is excellent. they do look somewhat SUPER8 -ish.

how large are the file sizes ? .... approximately how many Mb per minute?

i made some video clips last week with my beloved D2 and they were horrid!

(they were about 10Mb per minute at 320x240 / 10fps and the image quailty was nowhere near what you have shown)

A 1 minute HD clip (1280x720) is around 119MB.