Need Help! 35mm Film Scanners.

Davetron

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm looking to buy a 35mm film scanner with medium format capabilities. Basically i have no idea what is good and whats not. Ive been looking on the net to not much avail. If anyone could give me any advise on good makes and models. Please note i'm basically a novice when it comes to 35mm film up until recently i have been using 120 film. I want to be able to show the perforations in my photos. Also i dont want to spend a terrible amount of money. So any film scanners that high quality good value for money and reliable.

Thanks in advance for your help

Regards

Dave.

Cheap? Sprocket holes? That has to be a flatbed. The Epson range goes from cheap to more expensive but still cheap compared to, say, the Nikon range. On MF my old Epson 2450 Photo flatbed does a great job and if I didn't also use 35mm I wouldn't bother getting anything newer.

However, if speed is important to you; my flatbed is dead slow - time to make a good cup of coffee and drink most of it on one 6x6. I should think they're a bit speedier these days though.

Jim.

I was quite impressed with this review on the Epson scanners:

EPSON V700 review

I really have to stop and think before plunking down so much for a Coolscan 9000.

A very good scanner for the very small price, who can make all formats with quality reproductions !

Please look at my threads :)

I have both the 750 and the 700 for two workstations :)

Hi Woody,

How would you compare the best medium-format scans on the Epson V700 vs. best 35mm scans on the Nikon 5000? I now use a Leica mp and am pretty pleased with the results from the 5000. I''m wondering if I can get even clearer and bigger scans from Hasselblad V and Epson V700, using the same film.

Thanks,

HSL