D-Lux 4 vs V-Lux 1 (beginner)

Amanda Jane

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a beginner when it comes to digital but have some limited experience with 35mm SLR cameras.

My question is - which camera is better for a virtual beginner in this field? The D-Lux 4 sounds great but a lot of what I have read indicates that to get great pictures you need to know a lot about the treatment of the photos using photoshop, aperture or similar (neither of which I have). Does anyone use the pics without treating them a lot?

I work in the film industry where everything is beginning to go digital so am keen to get a really good digital stills camera which can grow with me over the next year or 2 but still go on holiday and take snapshots.

Welcome to the forum Amanda,

There are some very fine photographers here and you will learn a lot from them. I fall into the category you are looking for and use both cameras you mention. My recommendation is the DL-4. It produces a nicer picture and is much lighter in weight. I don't miss the zoom at all for my type of shooting. I just crop the picture and that makes up the lack of zoom ability. But to let you know I only print 4x6 pictures when I do that.

I work with a Mac and use iPhoto, which comes with all their computers. My main editing is the crop tool. Just get your subject in the picture and you crop the picture to improve the composition. The iPhoto edit features allow improving finishing touches very easily, these include: exposure, saturation, sharpness, and several others. You can get a dedicated 4x6 printer for easy and fast prints. The DL-4 is perfect for my use being light and small.

You will find the members here are very supportive and willing to help you become a good photographer. Browse the photo section and learn to adapt what you see. I'm always amazed at the creativity and talent of so many people here.

I am a beginner when it comes to digital but have some limited experience with 35mm SLR cameras.