First (and only) lens for M8 - advice please

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I pick up my shiny new black M8 in just over a week. Now I need to decide on what lens to get first. I anticipate ultimately ending up with 24 or 28, 35 and 75mm lenses.

So what to get first? I am new to rangefinders so it's difficult to know where to start first.

I also shoot a Nikon D2x and have mostly bought second hand but I'm a little nervous with s/h Leica lenses as I know so much less about them. Also what about '6-bit' and coding of non coded lenses, can I do this myself or is it an expensive and long wait to send to Leica?

Or can I manage without coding?

Any advice welcome.

28 or 35. I had 28 as only lens for almost a year until I added 75. It worked great. Depending on your taste, one of the two should work fine. It was great having just one lens as only thing needed to think was taking picture.

Buying used Leica and M-mount lenses is as safe as buying used pro Nikkors. Just take normal precautions in the way of condition, guarantee and being able to return the lens after a day or two if you don't like the way it behaves.

At 35mm - probably the best length for a first lens unless you know you want something wider or narrower than 'standard' - coding is desirable but not essential. I used my 35mm Summicron (the model before the current ASPH one) for a year before getting it coded.

I'd suggest going for a Summicron (f/2) rather than Summilux (f/1.4) unless you absolutely need the extra speed. Searching for discussion here of the 35mm Summilux or "'lux" (ugh) will show you why. Also the Summarit 35mm and the Voigtlander 35mm f/2.5 have good reputations.

Ian,