tri-x and coolscan

phovsho

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi folks

My Coolscan 5000 just arrived with film roll feeder (Sa-30). I will be using NikonScan in the first instance.

My question, as a complete novice, what setting would you recommend for scanning tri-x?

Also, I understand black and white film scans often require significant clean up because ICE doesn't work. What workflow do most of you use for cleaning up your black and white scans?

Best and thanks

M

Hello M.

I too have a 5000 (recently acquired too) and use Tri-X (@200asa/HC110).

I'm no expert, but can certainly help in the first instance by suggesting you scan the neg as a colour neg, then greyscale it in one way or another at a later date. Don't ask me why but the definition is better this way and the gradations more subtle - particularly important with Tri-X which can be a bit on/off.

Hope this helps, but I too would be interested in reading any further replies, or, indeed, comments on my suggestion!

Good luck,

Jim.

I scan B&W films such as Tri-X as a 16 bit greyscale. My advice would be to scan at the highest resolution that the scanner offers and set the black and white points to a low value such as .5% or lower. This should capture all the tonal ranges without clipping in either the shadows or the highlights. The resulting images will look flat and lacking in contrast, but that can be put back in Photoshop or similar.

I use Vuescan to do the scan - VueScan Scanning Software - and haven't used the Nikon software for years.

Tidying up is done in Photoshop. The spot healing tool and the healing brush are the tools I tend to use.