90mm choices for the M8

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been using the same early 90 Cron for 10 years or more (Canadian asterisk numbered / telescopic lens shade / tripod mount / non-fluted focus ring) . On the M8 it's not the lens I use most of the time, but it's invaluable when I need it (:D). The one thing I don't like about the lens is bulk and weight.

I've noticed a couple of used 90 asph crons around and am wondering if this might be an answer (and my accountant tells me this is the time of my financial year to consider buying kit). Does anyone have experience of making the move from an earlier 90 to this latest model? I know that Puts rates it very highly (alongside the 50 lux asph) so imagewise it won't be a problem. I'm more interested in weight / usability experience if anyone has this so share.

Thanks

I have one, and it is not a svelte and light lens. If you want utmost compactness with excellent quality the Macro 90 might be a good choice, if it is fast enough for you.It would have the advantage of near-macro too. Of course the 90/2.8 is very light and compact, and not all that far behind the 90 AA in image quality. But it might be too cheap if your accountant has ordered you to spend money;)

Edited by jaapv

Jaap - thanks for the thought on the 2.8. Is that the Elmarit? Hadn't really considered it. But this would be used, wouldn't it + I'd likely want to get it coded which adds to cost. I suppose 2.5 Summarit is to be considered too ... issue here is that it's £1,049.00 new in the UK and I can get the 90 AA for almost the same amount. I'll need to investigate. But you're right about my accountant... :)

Edited by chris_tribble