"vertical line problem" and digital sensors for newbies from a newbie

Lasex

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Some people here have reported having a so called "vertical line problem" with their M8. This is a vertical one pixel wide line which in most cases does not go through the entire picture.

I'd like to tell what I found out, maybe just to inform some "digital newbies" like myself.

As I am new to digital cameras and was going to buy a M8, I was a little worried about this "vertical line problem"- I thought it affected some M8's due to some sort of quality problem. :eek:

I did some reading and found out that this is a quite common sensor problem. This one pixel wide vertical line is caused by a hot pixel, which then triggers the pixels next to it in the same line to get "hot" too.

Hot pixels are an almost unavoidable feature of todays sensor technology. The best sensors today may have one or some hot pixels as new, and every sensor WILL develop some over time. This is unavoidable. (I read that these pixel defects can be "masked" by repair shops with some firmware based tweaking on some cameras, but that is really another story.)

At high ISO setting some pixel may act as a hot pixel, even if it does not act as a hot pixel at lower ISO. Even the temperature of the camera or radio frequency interference from electrical appliances may cause a pixel temporarily to "go hot" and in some cases cause a line in your picture.

I have a brand new M8, and I noticed a short line in some of 2500ISO pictures, but not all of them. Now I don't think there is any reason for me to be overly worried about it.

If I get more sensor problems during the 2 year warranty period I will certainly send the M8 in for repair. But if I send it in now I will very possibly get it back with a sensor/electronics which may quite well show the same hot pixel problem, either from the start or soon. This is a fact that I must live with, I think.