M8 shutter 'kick' - fact or fiction?

stunsworth

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've seen reports of people complaining about the 'kick' of the M8 shutter preventing them from taking low speed shots.

It's a long time since I studied Newtonian physics, but I would have thought that the difference in mass between the shutter's moving parts and the camera body/lens would make any such effect negligable - even taking the high speed of those parts into account.

Any thoughts? Can the shutter really move the body suffucient for there to be a visible effect, or are any low speed problems more likely to lie in the way the shutter button is pressed?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Steve there is a kick to any camera when the shutter fires. I feel it on my M2, M4-2, CL and M8.

With the M2 & M4-2 it is a horizontal kick and the M8 & CL it is vertical.

I don't think the M8 is any better or worse then the film M's and I'm not certain if it is the shutter or the rewind action that causes most of it on the M8.

There is a kick of sorts.

Having read these comments I placed the camera on an electronic scale with an Elmarit 28 on it.

With the lens pointing forward it weighed 852 grams.

Releasing time delay exposure the weight became steady after three seconds.

At the time of the shutter release the weight went down one gram. Consistently. For over a dozen shots.

With the lens pointing down there was no change in weight.

What does this prove? Not much. But there is a measurable kick. Is it the exposure or the rewind? That is still a question.

George, have you tried repeating the experiment but with a cable release and the shutter on 'B'? Obviously that will only test the first curtain, but it would give an indication if it's the re-cocking of the shutter or not that's causing the change? Obviously the recocking has no effect on the image being taken.