Thinking of an M7 -- two questions

PATB

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I use an MP mainly for travel and family photography. I shoot Black and White and print in the darkroom (local college) most of the time. I also use color film and scan for inclusion in a photobook. I have a photobook for each family vacation, and the wife is happy. So happy I am "authorized" to get another camera :D

I took an M8 for the 3 day Leica test drive. While I love the convenience, it is just not the same photographic experience for me. The camera didn't feel the same -- thicker, cramped frame lines, and my thum missed the rewind knob. Plus no option for wet prints with black and white. Since I am not a professional, the convenience is secondary consideration to me. I have to enjoy the process, otherwise I will find another more fun thing to do. More importantly, I have no clue how to print properly using an inkjet printer. My printer is an Epson Picture Mate that only does 4x6.

With the release of the S2, I am thinking Leica may soon pull the plug on regular production M film cameras. I love the MP so much I was toying with the idea of getting another MP sometime this year or early next.

I shot my son's marching band competition last weekend using the MP. The band was marching fast enough in different lighting conditions (it was midday and there were shades along the way). Focusing was not a big problem as I learned a few tricks from this forum. However, it was difficult for me to keep up manually adjusting exposure as the light condition changed. And the last straw, I was having difficulty rewinding the film fast enough. I was whishing my MP had a rewind attachment and autoexposure for these few times I have to shoot a relatively fast moving event. And the revelation -- I was describing an M7! So perhaps, an M7 would be a better pair for my MP.

Now for the questions:

1) Do new M7's come with the optical DX?

2) How reliable are the new ones?