M8.2 Lens recommendation

63strat

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to this forum and new to Leica. I test-drove an M8 last week and really loved it. I am not a pro, but I haven't found a camera yet that's as satisfying as this M8. I just ordered an M8.2 and would like to possibly get a few opinions on what might be the better lens for general purpose use. I also enjoy available-light photography. I can only afford one lens at this point, and I'm thinking about either the Summicron 35/f2 or the Summicron 50/f2. I'm sure I'll enjoy either, but any advice would be most appreciated, in case there's something I'm not aware of or considering. Thanks.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm new to this forum and new to Leica. I test-drove an M8 last week and really loved it. I am not a pro, but I haven't found a camera yet that's as satisfying as this M8. I just ordered an M8.2 and would like to possibly get a few opinions on what might be the better lens for general purpose use. I also enjoy available-light photography. I can only afford one lens at this point, and I'm thinking about either the Summicron 35/f2 or the Summicron 50/f2. I'm sure I'll enjoy either, but any advice would be most appreciated, in case there's something I'm not aware of or considering. Thanks.

I love the 35mm field of view on a M8 - something like 46mm on a 35mm film camera. I don't generally shoot over a true 50mm field of view, so I couldn't recommend that sort of length on the M8 - especially as your only lens!

With the M8's crop factor, most users would choose either a 28mm or 35mm for their "normal" lens. I have both and tend to use the 28mm more often since I was used to the 35mm FOV on a film M. The 50mm on the M8 would be on the narrow FOV side for an only lens.

Jan

Advertisement (gone after registration)