Why looks M8 pics less digital than competitors?

bebert

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello every one,

Just a basic question (I am not an engineer, but read with a lot of interest about the debates which relate to 8-bit vs. 16-bit, CCD vs. CMOS, etc...): if I compare pics taken with an M8 and other cameras with comparable capacities (such as D3, D200), I must admit (even on the screen but mostly when printed on A4/A3 papers), that each time, pics from the M8 look "less digital" than with other high end digital cameras: a portrait with the M8 seems each time less flat (I would say more natural with less treatment).

Same when I ask friends who have a photograph feeling in front of prints taken with the M8 and others shooted with a D3.

Just a question, but would the CCD sensor not be the cause for that? I understand that this type of sensor requires less electronic treatment.

Bebert

• Replies 143
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Bebert,

Most people who claim a "less digital" look probably just try to justify their $10k investment into Leica M gear. Frankly, I often see images where people claim "ah, that Leica look or glow", and its a mediocre shot of their cat or flower pot.

Here is my speculation:

Leica M8 images exhibit: More noise, very good sharpness, and potentially shallow DOF if you use large apertures. The combo noise/sharpness provides definitely good texture. Shallow DOF allows you to differentiate from point-n-shoots.

I can't see anything special on the color side; I was actually wrestling for quite a while to get good color (despite custom whitebalance, color-managed screen and printer etc.), particularly with incandescent light.

Peter