M8 & Pro Wedding photography

M'Ate

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Seeking advice here on dropping DSLR shooting of weddings and using the M8 as my primary tool. Like to hear from any wedding Pro's here on how they integrate the M8 into their work and how many they use on the day and what's in the trunk for back-up?

Going on, how many bodies & batteries do they carry for a full wedding and how many frames do they shoot? Is there great confidence in equipment, or do precautions need to be taken to ensure the finished product for the client? Any other advice?

I'm an experienced wedding photographer, doing 2 or 3 weddings a month (1,000 frames each), on a Pro DSLR + zoom lenses, but I used to shoot weddings on film M's, have the lenses still and want to get back to the small package. Pro's using M8's for weddings seem to be a minute proportion of the total and I haven't found a nationally recognized Pro using a digital rangefinder for weddings, or even serious portraiture. Be glad to be put right on that.

Appreciate any comments on this. This is about RF's and not an RF v DSLR thread, nor about why one lens is better than another, but a genuine call for guidance from you experienced guys.

Hi - I don't do weddings for a living, but I've done a few + I do a lot of event and social photography. What I've found has been that the M8 works beautifully alongside a full frame DSLR (in my case the 5D or 1DS M2). A combination I use all the time is the 28 Summicron ASPH on the M8 + an 85 1.2L lens on the Canon. It feels very natural...

My 2 cents would not be to depend on one system - especially when it's business critical! Not because the M8 is not reliable (touching wood, no problems on two bodies in the last 18 months), but because different systems have different strengths (and sometimes when I'm having to work really quickly it's nice to be able to slap on a fast zoom...)