Friday. Time for an outrageous comparison.

tashley

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Now before one thousand people take aim and fire, THIS IS A BIT OF FUN!

Draw any, or no conclusions. I will draw my own!

Here are crops from three shots. One on a Wista 5x4 field camera with a Rodenstock 150mm lens. Fuji Provia, about F16 at about 1/30th on a tripod. Scanned professionally on a Fuji Finescan to 9150 x 7215 pixels. Because I'm a large format Noob, I managed to underexpose by about a stop, Doh!

Next is the same scene on a Canon 1DS III with Leica R 50 Cron using an adaptor, at F4 and 1/2500 and ISO 200 focussed manually using Live View.

Next is an M8 shot with a 35 Cron at F4, 1/1000th, ISO 160 focussed via RF with a 1.25x magnifier.

Tripods all round.

All files given roughly appropriate sharpening (i.e. none for the film shot and some for the others) in LR then exported to Photoshop, where the two digital images were up-rezed using Bicubic Sharper until the image sizes were about the same. Then Mode>8 bit and save as JPEG.

Not a great methodology - and the light changed between shots - but nonethless the lenses gave very similar fields of view and everything was done happily within the diffraction limits of the particular lens/body combos.

Oh, and did I mention that the Wista is made of quince wood, with cherry-red bellows made of leather and lots of brass?

May the great Voyage of Discovery continue!

:-)

T

Wista

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Canon 1Ds III

M8

The full scene as shot on the M8:

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The 10MP of the M8 will clearly only take you so far but it looks worse (in comparison) than I would have guessed.

By the way, has your project (the one you need the extra resolution for) got anything to do with coastal erosion?