The dance of the 50mm f2

I have the Zeiss, and can comfortably say that it is well built, sharp and contrasty. Mine is spot on wide open. It takes a little getting used to 1/3 aperture stops if you are used to Leica's 1/2 stops. I have several older Summicrons as well, although not the newest. Although I haven't done a comparison yet on film, on my digital Sony A7rii the Zeiss shows the crispest pictures, whether I pixel peep or not. Others may have different experiences.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, colonel said:

...Leica 50mm f2 summicron new...

Are you meaning the APO or the 'regular' version - commonly referred to as v5?

If the former then I have no personal experience of the lens but, from what I've read, it seems to be as close to being as 'technically perfect' a lens as is possible to make within the constraints of M lenses.

If the latter then it's probably worth bearing in mind that the optical design of this current lens was introduced with the v4 version in 1979. Although this might seem a Bad Thing the fact is that its optical design was / is so good that Leica realised they couldn't improve on it in any significant way until the appearance of the 50mm APO Summicron in 2012. The APO, however, costs a staggering three-times the asking price of the v5 (£2,200 vs £6,600 here in the UK) if cost might be a factor.

Philip.

• Like 2

Within the three you listed, I only have the Summicron v5, and can't compare. I rarely use the Summicron and prefer the rendering of the Summilux Asph.

I pretty much agree with Flavio's analysis (for the lenses I have) in his detailed review. I am sure you'll find answers to some of your questions.

https://www.47-degree.com/focus-shift/leica-m-50mm-lens-comparison-part-1

• Like 1

I own the VM APO 50mm. Technically it is the perfect lens. I don't like it that much though, go figure 😂 

Couple of samples below.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…