Leica SL3 low light autofocus

JiriS

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I’ve been shooting Leica for 8 years and recently purchased SL3 and 35mm APO SL. Just returned from shooting a music gig in a very low light and the SL3 autofocus performance was quite awful with the focus hunting a lot. I was shooting the SL3 alongside the original Leica Q and the Q had no problem achieving focus for the exact same shots that the SL3 really struggled.

I found it very surprising that the OG Leica Q was so much more reliable (in low light autofocus) than the SL3.  

I really hope this will be addressed via a future firmware update. 

• Like 2

Yes, I agree. In low light—say blue hour, for example— the auto focus really can’t find focus. It just searches in and out. I either have to go to manual focus, utilizing the magnification focus assist, or try to place the focus field on an area of high contrast, like the edge of subject and sky. I usually end up just waiting five minutes or so until the light gets better. Not ideal for landscape photography and I can only imagine how frustrating it would be in other use cases/ scenarios like in the above mentioned performance setting.

• Like 2

I missed a shot using the VE 90-280 in predawn lighting but enough light at the time to see details in the shiny contrasty train tracks. I wasn't exactly focused so I pressed the back button-toggle to refocus but all I got was the completely opposite of what I wanted. Circles of confusion was all I had and my attempts to get the focus back failed causing me to miss a really great shot. Maybe another lens would have got focus but not the 90-280.   

• Like 2

I don't understand how Leica manages to release so halfbaked products lately.
SL3 autofocus issues, M11 freeze issues, etc...

If you boast with adapting PDAF from Panasonic, which is flawless due to recent update, why bother?
Stick to contrast detect then with my SL2S

• Like 2

Advertisement (gone after registration)