ROM lenses for digital SL2/SL3

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I am new to the Leica R system while recently acquired a good condition R6.2 from eBay with the 35-70mm f4.0 macro zoom. It's a very nice compact zoom. I am thinking of getting a digital SL3 in the future hence want to know if investing additional R lens is a good idea. My questions are: 

- would R lens on digital SL body a good idea? I have a few M lenses already but some are saying R lens works better in SL

- is there any advantage of using ROM mount lenses on the SL body?  

I am thinking of adding either the R24mm or R28mm and ROM versions are simply too expensive comparing to 3-CAM mounts. I believe ROM lenses will transfer focal information to the SL while the R-to-L adapter but metering still needs to be stopped down. Appreciate if I can have some advises before making my next R lens purchase. Thanks.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, stam6882 said:

Hi,

I am new to the Leica R system while recently acquired a good condition R6.2 from eBay with the 35-70mm f4.0 macro zoom. It's a very nice compact zoom. I am thinking of getting a digital SL3 in the future hence want to know if investing additional R lens is a good idea. My questions are: 

- would R lens on digital SL body a good idea? I have a few M lenses already but some are saying R lens works better in SL

- is there any advantage of using ROM mount lenses on the SL body?  

I am thinking of adding either the R24mm or R28mm and ROM versions are simply too expensive comparing to 3-CAM mounts. I believe ROM lenses will transfer focal information to the SL while the R-to-L adapter but metering still needs to be stopped down. Appreciate if I can have some advises before making my next R lens purchase. Thanks.