Big Rainbow Flare?

blackdot

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been shooting Leica for a couple of decades +, and I've usually used older lenses that flare very nicely with a diffuse kind of look. I recently picked up a 35mm Summicron ASPH v1, and It gives me these thick rainbow lines when the sun is near the edge of the frame. I don't use a hood (with this or any other lens) because the lens is already kinda big, and I also use a B+W UV, like I do with everything else.

Is this normal for this lens, and do any other modern ASPH lenses do the same thing? I was thinking of getting a 28mm ASPH cron, but may have to rethink it if it's similar. My little 28mm Elmarit ASPH v1 does not do this, and my 21mm SEM doesn't seem to either (though to be fair, I don't shoot it often). I'm hoping it's just a quirk of this particular lens.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

1 hour ago, Jeff S said:

As with various other lenses, some care required with sun just outside frame.  But I’ve not seen this rainbow effect with mine.

Various discussions via search…

Jeff

I'm definitely no stranger to normal flare, but this is rather distinctive and unpleasant compared to other lenses. It makes me nervous to buy other modern ASPH lenses.

Here's a crazy idea: use the sun hood. I know it is daring and very gung-ho but I am 84,7% sure that it will help...
I do flares controlled so whenever I do NOT want them (I have 4 ASPH lenses that do these tiny rainbow flares occasionally, including the 35) I use the hood.

Edited by Al Brown
  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 2

5 hours ago, blackdot said:

I don't use a hood (with this or any other lens) because the lens is already kinda big .....