Sell ME and M9M to fund M11M?

AceVentura1986

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello, all. I’ve been shooting for fun and occasionally for profit since 2000 on both Canon and Leica systems. Mostly, it’s Canon for profit, Leica for fun and both brands for “art”. My fun and art photography tend to be in BW as that’s my preferred format.

My Leicas are the original ME and M9M. They currently serve my needs quite well but I do worry that they’re getting a bit long in the tooth and will experience electronic failures at some point. FYI, my M8 and Canon 1Ds2 both died on me and at the worst possible time so I do have some experience with the unreliability of older cameras. I’m also drawn to the new M11M as it seems to be an “ultimate” camera for me. 

That’s caused me to think about selling both my Leicas to help fund the purchase of an M11M. I’ve had my two Leicas for around ten years. At 61 years of age and given the capabilities of the M11M, I might shoot that till I’m no longer able to hold a camera. LOL!

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone would care to comment on this? Should I keep what I’ve got, sell both and upgrade, or just keep both and upgrade anyway? Although I can swing the latter option, dropping that kind of money while leaving the other two on a shelf unused rubs me the wrong way. 

BTW, both the Leicas have had their sensors updated to address the corrosion issue. 

Thanks in advance. 

The M10M meets all of my current B&W needs, while my M(9)M sits mostly idle. I’ll trade the latter if and when I want to purchase new Leica gear, which doesn’t include any M11 iteration.  I have no idea what you should do, and have never bought (or sold) a camera or lens based on a forum survey. But what I would do is demo or rent the M10M and/or M11M and figure it out. Living in the US makes this simple, and seems you’re already in the neighborhood of Leica Miami, which can provide good advice and inventory.  

Jeff

• Like 1