Help Needed: C41 Dev Teething Problems (Tetenal Kit). Particles ?

grahamc

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello

I'm new to C41 processing and have run into a few problems this weekend. Hoping some members will be able to help troubleshoot the likely cause.

The main issue is my scans (some if them, at least) appear extremely dusty.  

But, I'm quite certain this isn't actual dust (I've never experienced any excessive dust problems at all in my B&W developing, in the same home environment) so my guess is this is powdery-type particles left behind in development that now sit on the negative ....or perhaps other imperfections in the development.  I'll post some examples in this thread but some scans look like it's snowing.  

This was evident in my first rolls when my Tetenal kit was fresh, but this has become much more evident in my most recent scans (which are also as the batch of dev/blix/stab reaches it's roll-limit)    I'm using a machine that rotates and keeps constant 38 degrees, and the first rolls were absolutely perfect other than being dusty-like.

Here's some info of my process , as well as some questions that I've been wondering along the way:

• I'm using a 1Litre Tetenal Kit , which is good for 16 rolls.  My tank holds 250ml for a 2 rolls.  So when I mixed up the Tetenal I split all of the chemicals into 4 x 250ml batches.  Is this OK ?   My logic was that I can use each 250ml batch for 4 rolls (i.e. 2 processing sessions of 2 rolls) then discard.  The method still makes the same 16 rolls at the end of use of the whole kit, but it has crossed my mind whether this is making the 250ml batches too dirty to use after processing the first lot of 2 rolls ?  I suppose any dirt or remnants would be more concentrated in the second-use of a 250ml batch, vers. if I had poured it back into a 1L stock.   Bare in mind though I noticed more of these particles in the very first dev with fresh chemicals.