M246M or M10 (not Monochrome)

MacDougall

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all, new guy here. I had Rs and Ms in the film days of the 80s and 90s but sold it all, tearfully, for child support…

I’m a retired pro and to shoot street things for myself and imminent fame. 🤣 I shoot b&w 95% of the time, with a large Canon body/Zeiss glass closet if I need. Recently got a Q and I love it; should’ve got a Q2M but this was a test. 

On to Ms. I’d rather buy air fare than an M11 or M10M. My question is how does a M246M compare to  straight M10, later converting or shooting monochrome in-body? (I realize the color mgmt is still there.) Would the increase in resolution help offset the sharpness gains in a M sensor of older tech? They’re about the same cost on the 2nd hand mkt.

thanks for any opinions. 

A month ago I have tested an M246 for one day and was blown away from the tones and details coming from the M262. After opening up the RAW file in Capture One I was amazed and wondered what to adjust in this RAW file. For me it was perfect how it was. But then the other day the camera broke (rangefinder roller(?) didn't work anymore) and I had to give the camera back to my dealer unfortunately.

I had the opportunity to wait for the repaired M246 and was allowed to test the M10 in the meantime. The M10 is very different camera, much better sharpness than the M262, very much improved colors, better viewfinder and noticeable smaller body. Immediately I fell in love with the new body. The next weeks I had a hard time to decide which way I wanted to go. Finally I have decided to keep the M10 and I am very happy with it.