Leica SL2-S general filmmaking questions

Danila

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Guys, hello everyone! My name is Danil, I'm 23 years old and I'm just starting to shoot videos on Leica SL2-S. I'm new in videography, so sorry for the possibly stupid questions.

I would like to say that I do not and do not plan to engage in commerce, I want to create videos for myself, for the soul, but with the highest quality and taste, so I also purchased:
- APO-Summicron-SL 50mm 2.0
- Atomos Ninja V+

I study this topic very actively and spend 8 hours a day, but my head explodes from a misunderstanding of most likely simple things:

1. I shoot with ProRes RAW, but Resolve (which I really liked) doesn't support it. I've tried converting the codec to cDNG, but the third party app doesn't support SL2-S. I bought FCP X, but I'm also not quite sure what to select in "Raw to Log Conversion", as there is no suitable option there. I'm also thinking of buying Dehancer, is that wise?

2. Which is better, Atomos Ninja V+ or Blackmagic Video Assist 5" 12G HDR? The second will record in BRAW and I can use Resolve, but how sensible would that be?

3. Is it even worth it to use RAW? Or is shooting in ProRes 422 HQ on Atomos not a bad idea with L-log either?

4. I've read a lot of forum threads and videos as well that don't recommend using a Leica LUT, why? Is it even necessary to use a LUT? And what is the right way to use it?

Sorry for such questions, but I really have reviewed all possible videos (of which there are not many on Leica products, especially on video topics) and the forum remains the last hope, it is very hard to understand everything from scratch.

I'd be glad if you can suggest any other useful tips!

• Like 1