Light meter only in live view?

kinetic

Advertisement (gone after registration)

In the viewfinder, I see some red arrows / dot on the bottom, but I'm not sure what that is. Is it for focusing? Is it a light meter? I don't like to use live view, and mainly use the viewfinder. But I'm finding myself needing to toggle the live view on, adjust everything, half press the shutter, and then turn live view off to start shooting.

I'd love if I can just get a light meter inside the viewfinder. Any suggestions or maybe there's a better way to do this?

BTW this is my first rangefinder ever, so I'm still learning.

5 minutes ago, kinetic said:

In the viewfinder, I see some red arrows / dot on the bottom, but I'm not sure what that is. Is it for focusing? Is it a light meter? I don't like to use live view, and mainly use the viewfinder. But I'm finding myself needing to toggle the live view on, adjust everything, half press the shutter, and then turn live view off to start shooting.

I'd love if I can just get a light meter inside the viewfinder. Any suggestions or maybe there's a better way to do this?

BTW this is my first rangefinder ever, so I'm still learning.

Read the manual please 

and metering works both live view and via optical view finder

3 minutes ago, Warton said:

Read the manual please 

and metering works both live view and via optical view finder

Fine

For those who are lazy like me and want to just ask within the forums, here's your answer.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 1

Not intended as a slight but it rocks my little mind that anyone would buy such an expensive camera without even knowing how the metering works. 

Never mind that the same exposure indicators have been used for over 50 years. 

/rant

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, Nimar said: