Anyone have a S 007 vs s3 image comparison?

ryanlowry

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi!

I’ve been an s 007 user for 5-6 years now. Absolutely love the camera and what I get out of it. I work as a portrait / people photographer for editorial and commercial clients. 

Everyone is saying how the s3 has an improved red channel - are there any online comparisons between the two sensors that show this? I haven’t really been able to find much. 

The doubling in sensor resolution actually doesn’t appeal to me much as it seems the 6 micron sensor size is really a sweet spot for digital cameras / lenses. I’ve noticed a lot of smeary texture and aberration with my m11 body and non-apo lenses but would love to see the difference between s 007 and s3. 

🙂

Edited by ryanlowry
  • Like 2

• ryanlowry changed the title to Anyone have a S 007 vs s3 image comparison?

@ryanlowry, I have used both extensively for landscape work.  There I am actually photographing reds on sunrise / sunset.

I will tell you that the resolution is the resolution of the sensor.  With higher resolution, pixel peeping shows more aberrations.  Yet, that is the point, the higher resolution captures more essence of the lenses.  The S lenses have plenty to give and the S3 draws very nicely.  Every camera body I have had, took some time to figure out the best workflow for the sensor (M9 -> M240, S2 > S007 > S3). This is because each sensor is different.

I will tell you I get a better hit rate on color in the S3 and the bayer filter was dramatically redesigned.  The color rendition on the M11 from the M10 is a similar step up.  I prefer to start with less saturation and add my own until I get where I want.  It is easier than the reverse.  The s3 is in no way over saturated and and lends itself well to that process.

I kept my S007, but given a choice, I grab the S3 first.  The extra megapixels are a bonus, but not the primary reason I have the body. It’s the sensor and the color.