I love my M8, but it is rubbish

Verbatim666

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to Leica, always had SLRs. A practica when 10, then Yashica, contax and finally Canon. I have enjoyed them all. Never broken a camera.

bought a Canon 600mmLIS f4 for birding, the tripod mount collar lock was broken on arrival, but it was replaced with a brand new lens the very next day, so no complaints from me.

the Leica is a completely different beast and I do like it - a much better 'snap shot camera'! People don't notice it like a big SLR.

It is only 2 weeks old, but has locked up a couple of times, shows a different picture from the one i have just taken on the instant review! and has given me black and red zebra stripes across the viewfinder.

The camera is currently unusable in colour as Leica haven't yet sent me the IR blocking filters. The purple blacks are laughable - what were leica thinking to release the camera like that? What sort of customer service makes you wait for the filter on a product this expensive? Absolutely incredible and Leica deserve to go bust for that alone.

I have scratched the monitor screen in just 2 weeks. We currently have 8 digital cameras with screens in this house ranging from an EOS 1D3 to a fuji point and shoot - haven't managed to scratch the monitor on any of them.

All these are issues with the M8, and I can understand Leica are a small company and are learning about digital so maybe I can cut them some slack.

but now my 28mm lens has gone 'wobbly', the lens elements have come loose. This is Leica's optics, something they are supposed to be able to do in their sleep. (perhaps they did do it in their sleep?). I am not being offered a replacement by tomorrow as I was with the faulty canon lens.