Is Leica S 007 suitable for event shooting?

Gene9816

@Gene9816, it probably depends on your previous use with SLR’s and medium format work, and on the event.  Many have used it for a wide variety of photographic shoots.  Because of the medium format nature, I prefer a tripod to avoid blur from poor handholding, but many have been successful.

What type of events do you plan to shoot?

• Like 1

No. At least from my observations, event photography calls for the use of a long (isn) lens, hand-held to be able to be mobile and unobtrusive. The ISO range and the weight of the S plus a long lens don't make this an ideal event camera. And unless you are working with more than fill flash, the lack of image stabilization is another unfavorable factor. There are many FF cameras that would suit the job better.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Gene9816 said:

Hi everyone. I'm a event photographer and videographer in HK. Is Leica S 007 suitable for event shooting and videography? Thanks so much.

Simple answer, No. AF is slow and has accuracy issue for wide aperture shooting.     Especially not suitable for moving subject.

I think this is a system for ‘slow’ shooting and for niche user who enjoy OVF and handling high build quality hardware with excellent IQ. 

• Like 1

I shot several weddings with the S-006. It's a great tool for this type of event, but obviously it has limitations. I went for the S when circumstances were right: big stage, bright, colourful. Most important: when the client wanted that look. It's not a low-light vérité camera.