What's the point of a digital rangefinder?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been shooting a Leica MP for a few years now. I have two Summilux lenses (the latest ones): 35mm and 50mm. They are my favourite. This is my zen setup, I need no more lenses. However, lately, due to not being able to find a good lab to develop my film and being lazy to do it myself (no lab does it as good as I do - not because I'm spectacularly good, but because labs are generally spectacularly bad), I started to think about digital cameras. I need a camera for studio (which has auto-focus), but also one to kind of continue this beautiful manual, mechanical experience. So I was pondering between SL2-S (and maybe R5) and M11, or both.

I have had an M10-D in the past and returned it. It just didn't stick with me. I like the fact of being able to use the same lenses on a digital body, but the experience is not the same at all. It's not an M-body (like the mechanical film ones). It felt like vegan meat. Beer without alcohol. It felt fake. Why even use the rangefinder, when you could have an EVF? Why go through all that effort to focus using that patch when you will most likely fail at <f/2 at close distances. That is if you are lucky enough for your rangefinder and lenses to be aligned perfectly.

So I decided the SL2-S will serve all purposes: usage with M-lenses, EVF(and focus accuracy with M-lenses due to it), as well as professional use with auto-focus SL lenses.

However, I love my MP so much, and the small package. I kind of wish the digital experience would be the same, so that keeps the M11 in my mind as an option. How do other people here feel? Have you used an SL2(-S) with M lenses? Have you used a digital M? I'm posting in the film forum because I'm interested in the mechanical Leica perspective on digital.

Thanks for reading. I hope my ramblings make some sense!

Edited by gabrielaszalos
  • Like 1