Analog vs. Digital - When to pick what?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all,

I am quite new to film and happy that I have received the new M6 last week Friday. Therefore, so far, I haven't had the necessity to choose between the one or the other when going out. My general plan was not to replace digital at all. I haven't had a plan tbh 😉

Therefore it would be interesting for me, whether you have any occasions or personal guideline when to pick which camera! Of course, if in doubt, bringt both but I think we do not want to exaggerate the setup even more! 😉 

Curious to see how you tackle this! 

Cheers,
Jewl

Absent any business or practical requirements, isn't this a matter of personal preference? Try both, take notes, and evaluate your results. If one medium satisfies your requirements, then go with it.

If you find yourself trying to reproduce the results of one within the other, e.g., trying to emulate the look and "feel" of film in the digital domain, then ask yourself why and repeat the "experiment" (to the extent that it's feasible). It may well turn out that any perceived "differences" are not about the recording media but are intrinsic to the images, such as their respective compositions, presentations, etc. It's an iterative process, and with each iteration you learn something--if you're paying attention.

The hard part here is ignoring others' opinions about the putative benefits of one media over another. This comes down to your goals, and only you know (or will discover after some time) what you are trying to say or show with any one or series of images. (On this last point, don't ignore your audiences' opinions out of hand. If anyone makes the time and effort to look at your work, listen carefully to what they say.)

Work diligently, have some fun and use photography to learn something about the world and yourself in the process.

• Like 9

Romantic move in my view, @Jewl.