Learning the M11

Corius

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I have a Q2 and have purchased an M11 with 35mm lux FLE which should arrive tomorrow. I'm new to rangefinder cameras and I was wondering if someone had advice on the easiest way to get familiar with the rangefinder and manual focussing

I understand that this is a skill that has to be learned so wanted to make sure I don't make things too hard for myself.

Thanks for any and all advice

It is definitely something you have to do and learn, the ghost image works fine generally but it did introduce something new to me: your focal point will pretty much always be in the center. I wasn't used to that. The ghost image also works best with good contrast changes/clear edges. To move focus elsewhere you focus and recompose, but in recomposing it is possible your focus gets slightly off - especially with shallow DoF like you get on 1.4. The more you use it the more you'll get used to it.

Remember, it's digital, maybe dedicate some time to taking plenty of test pictures, check result, delete and repeat! Static objects are obviously easier than (fast) moving targets when starting out.

No secrets though. This is all comments from someone who started with RF this year as well so take everything with grain of salt

• Like 1

I had the same journey: Started with a Q2 and then M11. Now also an MP 🙂

Make sure you check out tutorials about Zone Focussing like this one: https://youtu.be/AA1DASWrR38

It's very strange to do at first when you come from an autofocus camera. And don't worry if the first few days with the camera are a bit frustrating... it's a very different way of shooting.

But once you get it a rangefinder camera is a lot of fun and with zone focussing also very fast!!

Enjoy!!

Edited by Telecaster
  • Like 2

Nailing the focus with a rangefinder is something that is relatively easy to learn, if your eyesight is ok.