Is a 50 redundant if you have a 35?

TheEyesHaveIt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

A controversial title perhaps -  but wanted to grab your attention :) 

I currently have a 35 1.4 and a lot of folks recommend a 75 as a good pairing for it. However, my worry with the 75 is that it would remain in my bag (or worse, at home) 90% of the time since it seems a bit "specialized" for what I tend to shoot (travel, urban landscape, street). So I was wondering if a 50 would be a more useful lens - in that, I could even make it my primary from time to time just to get a different perspective / force me to frame differently. However, with an M11, I have a large degree of cropping ability given the 60mp sensor, so then I worry that I would not be getting anything particularly different compared to my 35.

Thoughts? Advice?

Perspective changes result from moving your feet - camera to subject distance - not from change in focal length or from cropping.

These are personal decisions based on style and preferences.  I have had a 35 and 50mm M lens since the 80’s (and a 28mm not long after).  YMMV.

Jeff

• Like 6
  • Thanks 1

This is something which you will simply have to find out for yourself.

My main lens these days is a 35mm and if carrying others (which is the norm) the other two lenses I will always grab first are a 28mm and a 50mm. Although there might not appear to be much of a difference between  28 / 35 / 50 in practice I've found that that there is sufficient difference for the way I shoot.

I do love the 75mm f/l but the reality has proven to be that if I carry a 75 it will be used for fewer than 5% of a typical day's snapping.

Best of luck!

Philip.

Edited by pippy
  • Like 5