BIG enlargements from M8?

MindsEye

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi All. I'm new to the forum and have enjoyed reading the posts. I've been a working pro for 22 years. I am thinking of adding an M8 system to my Canon DSLRs (5D, 1DsMkII.) Here are my concerns. Your input appreciated.

Since a good part of my business is fine art I need to be able to make big enlargements. My most common sizes are 50X40, 40X30, and 30X20. I do my own printing in-house and am very picky (compulsive :-) ) about quality.

I've owned Leica RFs in the past (M4-P, CL) as a complement to medium, large format. And normally I wouldn't even consider 10MP to be adequate but I've read a lot from folks about the M8 far exceeding what one would expect and "better than a 5D" at lower ISOs. I would consider a 5D to be the minimum requirement- in fact it is only a back up body.

So anyone out there making big beautiful enlargements from an M8? Or am I expecting too much and should wait for an M9?

I should probably also mention that I do a lot of international travel and back country work and am looking to reduce the weight and bulk I carry around. In a perfect world I'd like the M8 to replace one DSLR (ideally 1DsMkII) and could probably eliminate a couple DSLR lenses too.

Thanks.

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

but you might have a long wait & you would miss out on the joy of using the M8

this thread might help you with your questions

http://www.l-camera-forum.com/leica-forum/leica-m8-forum/9022-30-x-40-inch-m8-prints.html

David Adamson is a highly regarded digital printer in Washington & gives a very positive appraisal of using the M8 for large prints ...the discussion from this thread is interesting as well

Here's another proof piece both of David Adamson's skills as a printer and the M8's tremendous utility in making large prints: