Comparing the “Look” of different lenses

Decimusmaximus7

30 minutes ago, Decimusmaximus7 said:

It is the v1

I have no experience with the Summilux 50/1.4 v1 sorry but it is an earlier lens than the T-E "fat" 90/2.8. I would rather match it with an Elmar 90/4 ELANG or ILNOO but it is just a guess.

I believe you can come pretty close in matching the looks of different lenses through post-processing.  On a recent trip I used a Q2, an M10-R, and three different lenses, one being a Vario-Elmar 80-200-R from 1997.  Using the same workflow all my images looked very similar and I don't think most people could tell them apart.  These were all landscapes so maybe other genres of photography would be different.  You could tell the difference OOC but a little editing made them look very close to each other, especially after they were printed, framed, and hung.  

• Like 2

Yes i agree it probably depends on subject matter. I’ve discovered that I’m a lens “matcher” (it drives me a little mad sometimes to be honest!) and the main place I notice any match or not is for skin tones .  

That’s also how I compare them if I’m doing any comparisons. 

Other exceptions can be if a lens is particularly sharp and another gentle, but I guess that’s stating the obvious, which I guess is why starting with the same production era is a good start if matching rendering is your thing.  

Also consult the WIKI at the top of this page to establish the designers, which might help on some occasions   

eg Walter Mandler’s 1979 designed lenses I have tried (28:2.8 v3, 35:2 v4 , 50:2 v4 , 90:2 v3) match up perfectly to my eye. That should not be a surprise since same designer and same era (they would’ve run alongside eachother in product catalogues for years)

It’s not an exact science, as we already know. Fun trying though :) 

Edited by grahamc
  • Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

On 8/25/2022 at 10:46 PM, Decimusmaximus7 said: