Do I Need an SL2-S?

Laharrier

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So, first a bit on me. I am an M shooter. I have owned almost all of the film M bodies. I own an M8 and an M-P 240. I have a nice collection of M lenses and some great R lenses too. I use my 240 most of all as it just works really great for my casual snapshot style of photography. I love rangefinder focus and just love the form factor. Feel very little desire to buy a newer digital M body especially considering my 240 was purchased for only $2000. Id likely spend money on glass before buying an M11. 

Now to my main question. I work in marketing and media, and for my commercial work I use a canon body. Works fine but, being the consummate leicaphile that I am I have been considering a better “work” camera with autofocus and video and the SL is obviously something that intrigued me. All The While I know I can get a Sony body that outperforms my canon and can also be used with my M lenses, for less money than an SL kit would cost me. My question is, could the SL2-S work as well for “work” and also give me something in the area of image quality that my 240 does not. I’m thinking it could be a bridge for me between my work photography and my fun photography, I just don’t know if *need* it. So I am looking to hear from owners about why the SL2-S would be a good choice and what advantages it will have over my current rigs. I like that it has a much higher performance ISO range than my 240, and as always the L Leica glass is a big contributor to why I’m considering this over a Sony of Panasonic. 

thanks in advance! Look forward to your thoughts. 

51 minutes ago, Laharrier said: