SL Woes

Chris W

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have a lot of experience with Leica digital - M8, CL, M240. I have older M lenses as well as usually tack sharp Sigma L Mount.

I recently purchased a 'nearly new, grade 9' SL from MBP. A lot of my shots so far are soft, or plainly out of focus. I've tried manual focus by eye, manual focus with focus peaking, obviously auto-focus with the Sigma lenses.

I've tried f2 to f8.

I do get in focus results, but at lower f stops the amount in focus is tiny (depending on the distance and the subject). I also have a few out of focus shots made at f5.6 and 200s shutter speed.

Is it user error, more practice needed, or is there any technical issue that could be causing soft focus? My lenses are small on the whole, but maybe the bigger SL body is causing more shutter shake than I think?

I regularly see people claiming they shoot everything 'wide open' and a lot in their frame is sharply in focus.

18 minutes ago, Chris W said:

I have a lot of experience with Leica digital - M8, CL, M240. I have older M lenses as well as usually tack sharp Sigma L Mount.

I recently purchased a 'nearly new, grade 9' SL from MBP. A lot of my shots so far are soft, or plainly out of focus. I've tried manual focus by eye, manual focus with focus peaking, obviously auto-focus with the Sigma lenses.

I've tried f2 to f8.

I do get in focus results, but at lower f stops the amount in focus is tiny (depending on the distance and the subject). I also have a few out of focus shots made at f5.6 and 200s shutter speed.

Is it user error, more practice needed, or is there any technical issue that could be causing soft focus? My lenses are small on the whole, but maybe the bigger SL body is causing more shutter shake than I think?

I regularly see people claiming they shoot everything 'wide open' and a lot in their frame is sharply in focus.