Leica S 007 for Safari

ropo54

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've got an upcoming trip to south Africa and Kruger Park (including Victoria Falls,  Capetown, Robben Island, Johannesburg).  Should be in Africa for about 10 days, with 4 safari drives in Kruger Park and wanted to solicited some final thoughts on use of the Leica S for safari.  

I've read and re-read multiple forum posts regarding gear to take.    I will have a limitation of about 10 lbs of camera gear ( to fit in my carry-on luggage).  

With the weight restrictions, I could pack the S 007 with some combination of the S 30-90, S 70, S 120 or S 180.

Alternatives are the SL 601, SL 90-80, Sigma 16-28, and maybe add the SL 50 1.4,  or CL with the TL 35.

Would appreciate any thoughts from S users (and others) as to which direction to go.  I'm a hobbyist, never been to Africa, and am not quite sure what to expect. I'm told the wildlife will get close to our vehicles at Kruger, and birding is of minor interest.  I've gotten some  very practical thoughts from JaapV,  Michali, Printmaker, and Erlingm, Faithayoglu, ImmerDrausen, Helged, Boojay and a host of others who have generously posted on the other thread.  Decision time is getting near so thought I'd run the question through the S thread for any final thoughts.

Thanks, Rob

Disclaimer: I have no idea what I'm talking about.

I'd get a Nikon or Canon - whichever is best at focus tracking that isn't a Sony - and as long a telephoto as weight allows. Animal eye-tracking is now a thing, but I don't know which models do it well. The TL with 11-23 is a great wide angle weightless combo. For normal focal lengths, anything would do. 

See disclaimer above,

Matt

• Thanks 1