A most desirable firmware WISH

usefeet

Advertisement (gone after registration)

One think has been in my mind for some time, long before I bought my camera:

I wish the M8 menu would allow me to select the lens I choose.

This would not only save me the expense of sending my lenses for coding, but allow me to experiment too.

(I also notice that on his website, ReidReviews, Sean Reid has been pushing for this option too.

As a former firmware programmer, I can't see any technical problems with this utility being applied.

Anyone with good LEICA connections, please push for this option! :)

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Leica's answer:

"Technically, this would be feasible, but we think that a manual selection would bring the risk of forgetting to change the settings when changing a lens. This is particulary dangerous, because the settings also influence DNG files."

;):rolleyes:

Leica's answer:

"Technically, this would be feasible, but we think that a manual selection would bring the risk of forgetting to change the settings when changing a lens. This is particulary dangerous, because the settings also influence DNG files."

This may be the case for now, but there in no reason why this decision cannot be reversed.

Careful thought on implementation, and we have it!

Perhaps initially just for wide angle lenses only, ..and an icon on the LCD screen to remind us.

This topic has been endlessly discussed before.

My own view is that such a menu would remove a competitive advantage current Leica lenses have over their competition because they are coded and would therefore be injurious to Leica's lens sales.

For those with other manufacturers' lenses, or older Leica lenses which cannot be coded, there are a number of self-coding solutions, ranging from having the lens mount milled to marking with a pen using some sort of template.