Slimming down the lens choices...

Mech-Dragon

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all. I've been using Leica for a few years now, and have been picking up lenses here and there. Trying out classic vs modern, ergonomics, focal lengths, the like.  I've now amassed quite a few lenses and enjoy things about each one. 

But lately I've been feeling like I have too much. There's so much to choose from, and don't get me started on picking things for trips. I just took a trip to Vancouver BC for a few days and I think I grabbed 6 lenses (yikes). I used 3 lenses, and one of the 3 I used for maybe 15 shots. I'm sure I could have left that at home. I probably could have done with just one lens! 

I'll just need to bite the bullet and sell some on. I don't think I own a lens that I truly don't like. There's always a characteristic I like, be it size or optical character. In the long run, having much less choice should be a lot better. Too much time mulling over which classic 50 I want to take out for example.

Anybody cut down their collection to a few pieces? Maybe you were glad, maybe you weren't. 

I should also get rid of one or two film M bodies, but this is the lens forum and a different discussion.  😁

• Like 1

Cutting down the collection of lenses violates the rule of entropy…

If you nevertheless want to grab only one lens for your trips, you might try the following refreshing idea: make several trips to the same destination, each with a different lens. Such as New York @50mm, New York @28mm, New York @90mm etc. Other cities could work as well… 🤔😉

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1