Leica R3?

assiah10

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Greetings! Bit of a novice here! I’ve been looking to get into Leica systems and would have the chance to get a R3 for a rather good price I believe (<100€).

So my question would be:

is the R - system worth investing into? (Can’t afford the M system as of now)

are there any non Leica R mount lenses? Which are less expensive than the Leica ones?

alternatively: is there an adapter Olympus OM system to R?

I have an Olympus OM2n with a Zuiko 50mm f1.8, is it even worth getting a R3?

The information on google was a bit overwhelming so any insight would be helpful 🖤

Leica initially had excellent SLRs in the Leicaflex models, but in general I'd say the R models were just typical SLRs, and as a user I wouldn't rate them above other makes. It's the rangefinder models that set Leica apart. I've used Leica (Rangefinders and SLRs) since 1969, but during that time also other makes of SLRs that offered advantages over Leica. I have a soft spot for small SLRs like the Olympus OM and Pentax MX.

6 hours ago, assiah10 said:

Greetings! Bit of a novice here! I’ve been looking to get into Leica systems and would have the chance to get a R3 for a rather good price I believe (<100€).

So my question would be:

are there any non Leica R mount lenses? Which are less expensive than the Leica ones?

The information on google was a bit overwhelming so any insight would be helpful 🖤

I would say the main reason for getting into the R system would be the lenses, and it makes less sense to use the cameras with the limited choice of third party alternatives. Lenses from other systems like Olympus can't be used with simple adapters. Most systems have a shorter flange focal distance than Leica R, which means you wouldn't get infinity focus (at least without adding an extra lens element to the adapter) even if an adapter existed:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flange_focal_distance