Totally feeling sad and heart broken. Bye Leica...

Darthaddie

Advertisement (gone after registration)

TLDR; Leica cameras are not meant to be used professionally. They just can't keep up in product quality and customer service. 

I am a full time wedding photographer for the past 8 years. Have been shooting Leica since 2012 (Got my first M-240) and it was love at first sight. I invested in premium glass and gradually built up a nice small kit for personal photography. In late 2019 I moved from my Sony/Canon kits to the SL2 and later the SL2S with the Summicron SL 35/7/50 combo for my professional work. I was in love with the kit. Genuinely nothing else would come close. 

Then recently the entire Leica system started falling apart. I thought cameras break and can be fixed. right? Well, with Leica, they can be fixed but Leica does not care about when. 

First the SL2 started giving System Errors. It won't turn on to the main menu. The shutter was stuck. After much back and forth I sent in for repairs. After more than 3 weeks, I hear it might take more than 3-4 weeks further even though its been repaired in the USA. It could be even later as they are moving. So might be another 2 months. This is unacceptable. As a professional, I cannot have a spare $7k camera at all times. And no, they do not have spares or loaners. 

Then the SL2S started acting up. SD card error with every brand. Camera freezes on continuous shoot. Extreme shutter lag. Needed repairs again. Same long patient wait for repairs and absolutely no update from them. I did update the latest firmwares to try found a solution. 

I do take care of my cameras like a baby. Even after years of use they are in mint condition. Never dropped or nicked them. The issues are just mechanical and quality control failures. 

Well, I thought I will wait and rent 2 Sony's while I wait since both my cameras are out of commission. 

I rented a Sony and a SL2S but now the SL75 has started acting up a bit.