Possibly getting an M8 just looking for advice

NYCJMV

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I’m new to the forum and new to photography. I have been shooting casual street scenes with a Leica d lux 7 traveling, around New York and at work (I’m a marine engineer so I get in some amazing places at the shipyards). 

I’ll be honest I bought the dlux 7 based solely on the reviews at the time, the way it felt in comparison to other cameras at B&H in New York and yes, I loved the look. Had that classics Leica look that everyone loves in a solid slim package. My only goal at the time was to start taking better photos than I get with an iPhone.  We just moved into a new Manhattan apartment and I hate “stock art” so I wanted to be able to frame some original pictures of places that meant something to us in good quality. 

fast forward to now I’ve been primarily using. Y camera on auto. It does the trick at the moment. I do plan on taking some local photography group classes just to actually get to know more about the cameras functions etc. I do love taking my own photos and have hundreds that I’ve kept now that I really love. 

i have the opportunity to get an M8 with lens from a friend who is selling it to me for the difference they are missing from whatever the latest M series is. In other words approximately 500 dollars under the conditions when I get rid of it they get a chance at it first. She uses it still nearly daily. 

I am curious if anyone has opinions and recommendations for a beginner with this camera. I generally enjoy simple technology I like things that keep you more involved so I get the feeling a range finder is something I’ll really using and actively working for the photos. Just curious what others would say. 

my little point and shoot dlux 7 would still remain my go to camera I think but I see the m8 as something interesting to learn and be involved in. 

also for a beginner on an M8 what would be the best lens?