Shooting with SF-40 Flash, SL2 viewfinder exposure preview is all over the place

pgh

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Does anyone shoot with flash much on their SL2? I'm using mine in TTL and the exposure preview through the viewfinder is all over the place - like I get a preview that reads as if I'm +2 EV but I'm shooting in manual mode with the flash and the exposure I am set at (for an underexposed background) is about -1 EV for the scene. I'm new to trying this with this camera but struggling to make sense of how it behaves. This could be a simple user error issue but I don't know where to go from here. I also find it strange when the flash is on TTL in A or P mode it doesn't default to the shutter sync speed (or 1/60) as other cameras systems tend to do. 

On 5/5/2022 at 8:08 PM, pgh said:

Does anyone shoot with flash much on their SL2? I'm using mine in TTL and the exposure preview through the viewfinder is all over the place - like I get a preview that reads as if I'm +2 EV but I'm shooting in manual mode with the flash and the exposure I am set at (for an underexposed background) is about -1 EV for the scene. I'm new to trying this with this camera but struggling to make sense of how it behaves. This could be a simple user error issue but I don't know where to go from here. I also find it strange when the flash is on TTL in A or P mode it doesn't default to the shutter sync speed (or 1/60) as other cameras systems tend to do. 

I’m not A professional, but don’t have a flash with my SL2-S. When I bought my camera, Dan Tamarkin (who sold it to me) said I’ll never need a flash, and he’s correct.  I have an excellent tripod for low light outdoor shooting, but even in low light indoor photos with no tripod I don’t miss a flash. 

11 hours ago, Doug Trabaris said:

....... but even in low light indoor photos with no tripod I don’t miss a flash.