Metering

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Dear all, 

I ‘d like to know how you shoot your meterless Ms ?

I have been shooting M6TTL/M7 for 20 years now, and digital Ms for 8 years now.

In the past years I mainly shot digital, and foolishly sold my M7 to fund my first digital M…

I used to shoot my M4 and M3 as well, but only in B&W, and using a Gossen Digisix + sunny 16.

I am now coming more back to film and my meterless Ms and re-thinking the best way to meter : I’d like to avoid using a handheld meter, and wonder if some of you use a Voigtlander meter in the hot shoe : how efficient and fast is it ?how reliable ? What angle does it cover ?

Thanks for sharing your experience

Didier 

Like you, I also have a handheld Gossen digital (and an old Weston that's still reasonably accurate), but have tended to use Sunny 16 quite a bit. When my eye is in, I can usually estimate within a stop in normal daylight conditions, which is fine for negative film, especially if I err a little on the side of overexposure. It helps to practice when shooting a metered camera to see how well you can predict what it will read. I've thought of getting a shoe meter, especially with the recent availability of reasonably priced small digital meters and copies of the VC meter from China, but have never quite got round to it. Even when I do have a meter, I tend not to measure every shot, but take a baseline reading and leave the meter in my pocket until the light changes. A smaller meter like the Digisix could be worn around your neck on a lanyard without looking too silly (they also make a shoe mount if you still have the meter, though it doesn't look as neat as the VC and its clones). Depending on what phone you have, you may be able to get pretty accurate reading with an app, which would be another option.